My First “Patriot Page”

I’ve been agonizing over how I want to do this section of my DAR Scrapbook.

IMG_1381

I haven’t figured out the consistent format or color scheme yet, because I haven’t done any layouts to scrap my journey to the DAR. I’m thinking of having black as my base mat layer for all layouts throughout the book. When I make a final decision on that, I’ll start the journey section and then move into my Chapter activities.

After thinking about all the little stuff, I impulsively started with what I call my “Patriot Page,” which is intended to showcase my approved ancestors; I also decided that it would be its own section within the scrapbook, not pages randomly scattered throughout. So Ol’ Ambrose is my dry run. I’ll be set once his father-in-law becomes my first supplemental.

I thought about fancy edges, all sorts of layers and “pop.” In the end, I decided the KISS method was best. Red, white, blue and gold.

IMG_1543

I’m happy with it. It makes the Patriot the center of the page, not any frittery fluff. I think they’ll all be two-page layouts, as well – the opposing page will have my lineage to the Patriot, a picture of their ancestor pin, and perhaps trivia.

My only lament is that I wish there were more rustic or colonial themed elements out there, but that’s okay – it’ll keep my Hobby Lobby bills down. 😉

 

Leave a comment